Bayés ECG Award

The Bayés ECG Award was create in homage to Prof. Antoni Bayes de Luna, one of the masters of Electrocardiography, and it is an single award to recognize young investigators with the best publication portfolio on Electrocardiology.


Judges for the 2020 competition will be the following: Bulent Gorenek (ISE President-Elect 2021-23), Antonio Luiz Ribeiro (ISE President 2019-21), and Antoni Bayes de Luna.


Candidates must submit their materials (CV with birthdate, current position, and publications) directly to Candidates should be under the age of 40 at the time of ICE2020 and should be present at the congress. Please do not send full CV.



The winner will be presented during the ICE2020 in Belo Horizonte - Brazil, and will receive a $500 prize offered by the International Society of Electrocardiology - ISE. 


Submission will be open until March 31st!


Antonio Bayés de Luna is professor of cardiology at the University of Barcelona and a cardiologist at Hospital de Sant Pau in Barcelona, Spain. He studied cardiology at the University of Barcelona and the Institute of Cardiology at Hammersmith Hospital in London.


Professor Bayés de Luna has served as Director of the Catalan Institute of Cardiology and the Hospital de la Santa Creu and Sant Pau in Barcelona. He has held senior positions in leading cardiovascular societies including president of the World Heart Federation, founder and first president of the Catalan Society of Cardiology, president of the Spanish Society of Cardiology, and president of the International Society of Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy.


He is an honorary doctor at the University of Lisbon and the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in Budapest. In 2003, he received the Creu de Sant Jordi award for his services to cardiology. This is the second-highest civil distinction awarded in Catalonia. Professor Bayés has authored or co-authored hundreds of articles in leading journals and has spoken at many international conferences and meetings around the world.